Connecticut Valley

The Valchemist Post New Entry

Burlew Award -- First Call for Nominations

Posted by Burkholder, Thomas on July 6, 2012 at 12:00 AM

The CVS nominations and elections committee solicits nominations for the 2013 John S. Burlew Connecticut Valley Section Award to recognize outstanding contributions to chemistry. This is the signature research award for the section and the winner will present the keynote lecture at our Undergraduate Research Symposium and Awards Luncheon on Saturday, April 27, 2013. The Award carries a cash prize. Recent Burlew Award winners include Susanne M Opalka (United Technologies Research), William Bailey (UConn), George Petersson (Wesleyan), Sankaran "Thai" Thayumanavan (UMass), and Marc Zimmer (Connecticut College). This year's committee would especially like to encourage nominations of women and chemists in industry.


Eligibility: A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to chemistry. A nominee must be a member of the CVS and must not have received an award from ACS or other technical or scientific organizations for the same contributions.

Please make a nomination consisting of a short letter describing the nominee's qualifications, a curriculum vitae, and names and contact information of three references familiar with the nominee's cited contribution. Self-nominations are encouraged. Nominations should be sent as a pdf file to Mark Peczuh by email to Deadline for the 2013 competition is October 1, 2012.

For a full description of the Burlew Award, please see this page.

Categories: None

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register